Reviews

Wonderful Weekend

To Lorna & John, You made our weekend just wonderful Thank you & God Bless Betty & Jim R .. Read more

Wonderful Blackpool

Wonderful Blackpool Two night stay in a friendly hotel. Good location, excellent food and great hospitality. .. Read more

Wonderbar

A review has been posted by 'Charlotte Hodgkinson' 'Really Enjoyed our stay here Must be best Guest house in Britain, Would recommend to everyone. come and stay here for a wonderbar time.' .. Read more

What a great place to stay

Grace Easton - What a great place to stay "From arrival to departure, everything was excellent, Lorna & John the owners go out of there way to make your stay a happy one. Best vegan breakfast I've had in any hotel. 5 Star service all the way. Thanks Gracie" .. Read more

Vegetarian Served Here

McCallum 'What a Great B&B to Stay' Best B&B I've stayed in in Blackpool, Comfortable, clean, welcoming, lovely hosts and a great vegetarian breakfast to boot. would stay again and have already recommended to friends. .. Read more

Vegan Breakfast to die for

A review has been posted by 'Mrs Donna Walsh' see below: Review: 'From arrival to departure 5 Star Service all the way. The Phildene's single rooms are not stuck in the eves like most B&Bs. well laid out, spacious, comfy and loads of complimentary items Wine, Chocolate, Toiletries, rooms serviced daily and great hosts. the best vegan breakfast ive ever had while away from home. Thank you John & Lorna for a lovely stay. Love Donna' .. Read more

Thanks for the full gluten free breakfast

+ “Having travelled quite a bit this is the only place where I can say the pillows were as good as, if not better, than mine! A great night's sleep ? There were complimentary alcohol, soft drinks, tea, coffee water and biscuits in the room. Breakfast was varied, cooked breakfast was chosen off a menu and for me it was wonderful to have a gluten meal catered for in a B & B. Everywhere I go I have to take my own bread, but not here. The full, gluten free breakfast was provided! Location was between central and south pier, ideal for walking in any direction. The place was absolutely spotless and for Blackpool, quite roomy.” .. Read more

THANK YOU

Review: 'Thank you John & Lorna for a great stay, I really enjoyed myself, especially johns breakfasts, your B&B and hospitality are excellent. Will be back next year. Elleen' .. Read more

Suberb

Superb (Posted on Laterooms.com) Very welcoming, room spot on. The most comfortable bed I have ever slept in. Breakfast was out of this world amazing so much choice and all was delicious. Definitely would stay there again. We had to pay for parking which was only £4.00 a day and not far from the hotel overall 10/10. .. Read more

Spacious Room

Craig Carstairs - Spacious Room "Booked a Superior room, very spacious for a guest house in Blackpool, Lovely comfy bed and fluffy pillows. Host's, Service, Room, Breakfast all 5 Star. They deserve there Visit Britain Grading to be higher than 4 star. Thank you John & Lorna from Craig and the other one that came with me " .. Read more

Return Visit

'This was our third visit. The main reason for coming again is the welcome Lorna and John give to all their guests, the really good food and value for money. The cooked breakfasts are freshly and tastily made to order by John and the choice is almost unlimited. Cereals, fresh fruit, smoothies, croissants and more will also help to fill you up if needed. The highlight this visit though was the suite.That's right, not just a room with en suite, but two rooms, one of which is a comfortable living area equipped with settee, TV, fridge, sink plus tea and coffee making. Add to this the usual supply of wine, chocolates and cookies and this became a comfortable haven on a very wet cold and windy afternoon. This is the first suite they have completed, and more to follow. Add to all this the location, just set back from the sea front so it is quiet, half way betweeen Tower and Pleasure Beach, a minute to! tram and bus stops as well as the beach (when the weather allows). We shall be back again later in the year. Than you again, Dave and Di.' .. Read more

Really Really Good

Hello there, Just to say how much we appreciated what you did for our last visit. It Was really really good of you both. Best Wishes Di & Dave .. Read more

Posted on tripadvisor.com

Breakfast was superb - great buffet with ace selection and the best cooked breakfast I've had in Blackpool! Everything was clearly of a high quality and the service provided by John and Lorna is outstanding!! The best part of this hotel is the owners! Lorna is so so so lovely, I wanted to bring her home with me! You can tell that the hotel is their pride and joy, and the job they do is fantastic! They made us feel completely at home instantly and nothing was too much trouble. Lorna was very helpful in recommending places to visit etc and always had a smile on her face! The service they provide is amazing value for money, I really cannot recommend their hotel enough and we'll definitely be returning soon!! .. Read more

Posted on Tripadvisor.com by Sarah W

“A truly lovely stay” Had a fantastic time at the 4 star Phildene. The breakfast was delicious, the room was very comfortable and John and Lorna were lovely and very helpful, treating us like friends rather than guests. The little extras in the room were great too - complimentary wine and chocolates! .. Read more

Posted on tripadvisor.com by SamTed

“Great place” Great place to stay fantastic couple that can't do enough for you and definitely not your standard b&b. Beds really comfy and pillows top quality and the rooms have everything and more than you need. Would definitely stay again and recommend to others. .. Read more

“The B&B that just keeps on giving!!!” Another excellent stay at the Phildene. Gets better and better each year with wine and chocolates on arrival, coffee machine, slippers, dressing gowns, mini fridge etc etc. Everything a guest could want is more than catered for by this lovely couple. Excellent facilities, excellent location and excellent owners. Well done, yet again, Lorna and John. Many thanks, Lorraine and David Anchor Stayed September 2015, travelled as a couple .. Read more

Posted on tripadvisor.com by Linda F

“Great friendly hotel” The couple that owned the hotel could not do enough for us, wine and chocolates on arrival, ordered our taxis, the location was right on promenade in the middle of everything, will definitely be returning next year .. Read more

Posted on tripadvisor.com by Jack S

''Nice Hotel'' The hotel was pleasant enough with a very nice welcome from the owners. We didn't have breakfast as we overslept but would definitely stay here again. The only downside I would say was the small fridge that didn't work and also I couldn't get the shower to heat up probably my own doing. ''Hotel Reply'' Hi Jack, Thank you for your time reviewing your stay with us, we note your comments, on checking the fridge in the room it only needed switching on and the shower was working fine, in fact the bar shower unit had only been newly fitted a week ago. It would have been nice if you had spent the time to let us know of the problems you had prior to your departure and I am sure we could have resolved them. Hope to see you again next time you’re in Blackpool. Regards John & Lorna .. Read more

Posted on tripadvisor.com by Isabella

“Charming hotel ” For a bed and breakfast in Blackpool you are not going to find anything better than this. It's run by an older couple that have endless energy and do everything themselves. The wife, Lorna, is particularly nice and cheery. I was quite inspired by how hard working and happy she was. And she was so quick and efficient. They go out of their way to help you, like they packed me up a breakfast to take with me when I left early in the morning. Small touches make it a pleasure to stay there, like the mini bottle of wine in the room or the smoothies at breakfast. I've stayed in a few hotels in Blackpool and this was honestly the best bed bread and breakfast. It really makes a place like Blackpool quite nice when there are hotels like this. Stayed September 2015, travelled on business .. Read more

“A truly lovely hotel!!!!” We travelled from plymouth which took us about 5 hours to get to Blackpool and we were greeted with friendly smiles and a homly atmosphere. The couple who own the hotel were so welcoming and friendly. We were shown to our room and also were told about different things we could see and do around Blackpool, they also gave us leaflets which had money off coupons!!!! Our room had everything you could have wished for and more!! They have really thought through everything you could possibly want. The hotel we think is situated in the perfect spot, as you are very central. We would like to say a massive thankyou to the couple for having us we had a brilliant time and would definatly recommend you to our friends and family. Room Tip: We had room 6 which was top floor and we had sea view room. .. Read more

Posted on tripadvisor.com by Corban

“Excellent” There is nothing to fault for the money in this hotel. I paid just £44 for a single room on bank holiday weekend with a fantastic cooked and continental breakfast. The room was bright and clean with everything I needed. Top service from John and Lorna. Great location too and fairly quiet. The chippy opposite is good too! Only slight negative was the lack of car parking outside though this is common for the area. The main parking area is a 10 minute walk away, but you can drop your bags off first. I would stay here again. Posted on tripadvisor.com Stayed August 2015, travelled solo .. Read more

Posted on Laterooms.com (Once a sceptic)

Customer service Cleanliness Room Quality Value for money Food Quality (All Marked Top Rating) Review Once a sceptic Myself and two colleagues visited Blackpool to work at the Light Switch on festival. Due to visiting at this busy period all the large chains of hotels were fully booked. After considerable browsing of B&B's in Blackpool we came across the Phildene. Usually we would avoid B&B's due to the stereotypes Blackpool holds, however on arrival we soon realised we had made the right decision. It felt like we'd booked more of a boutique hotel than a 'grotty blackpool b&b'. Made to feel incredibly welcome by John and Lorna whom really couldn't do enough for us. Aware we were there to work offered us an early breakfast to go and ensured we had rooms next to each other. Rooms were spotless and so comfortable, it was fab to be able to come back and relax in. Lovely and quiet too with no loud music or traffic. Breakfast was amazing and a perfect set up for the day! Will definitely return!! .. Read more

Posted on Booking.com

Review “The people running the hotel were lovely people couldn't do enough for us . Very enjoyable stay” .. Read more

Posted on booking.com by Zee Haniffa

+ “Perfect location for all parts of Blackpool. Well looked after property and the owners were lovely. Will be going back if it's not booked up !” .. Read more

Posted on booking.com by Sarah

From Sarah, (GB) Overall Score 10.0 value: 10.00 staff: 10.00 service: 10.00 clean: 10.00 comfort: 10.00 location: 10.00 .. Read more

Posted on booking.com by Mohammed9990, (SA

Posted on booking.com by Mohammed9990, (SA) Overall Score 10.0 value: 10.00 staff: 10.00 service: 10.00 clean: 10.00 comfort: 10.00 location: 10.00 + “I would love to thank Lorna & John for their great hospitality”, (SA) .. Read more

Posted on booking.com by Melekah

“The owners and the breakfast are amazing” .. Read more

Posted on Booking.com by Kim

+ “The whole experience was fantastic, John and Lorna welcomed us into there home and nothing was to much trouble. The breakfast was top notch and so much choice!” - Nothing!! Was a very relaxing stay, would definitely stay again. .. Read more

Posted on booking.com by Jennifer

“The hotel is exceptionally clean and the people who run it are lovely ..... The breakfasts are brilliant ...... The room was lovely very spacious and clean they even supply toiletries...... There was a coffee machine in the room and a fridge a seperate living area and kitchen where there was complimentary chocolates biscuits bottles of water and wine.....we couldn't fault the place and would definitely stay there again” .. Read more

Posted on booking.com by Ian

+ “Everything, this is the best hotel that I have ever stayed in Blackpool. Incredible breakfast choices, comfortable and completely equipped room. Toiletries are not required to be taken as they are all provided. And I mean all. Wow! They even provide some small luxuries your only expect in top city hotels.” .. Read more

Posted on Booking.com by Graham

“We were made very welcome upon arrival and throughout our short stay. There was plenty of choice for breakfast and overall very tasty. The location was perfect and just a short walk to the seafront and tram stop at the end of the road. Parking was the only minor setback but public car park nearby (only small) and very reasonable at £6.00/24hr. Overall Excellent and would definitely return.” .. Read more

Posted on booking.com by Gary

+ “The staff were really friendly and helpful. Really catered for our needs.” - Nothing to comment on. Had a brilliant stay. .. Read more

From Gary & Hailey, (GB) Overall Score 10.0 value: 10.00 staff: 10.00 service: 10.00 clean: 10.00 comfort: 10.00 location: 10.00 + “The staff were really friendly and helpful. Really catered for our needs.” - Nothing to comment on. Had a brilliant stay. .. Read more

Posted on booking.com by Gail

From Gail, (GB) Overall Score 8.3 value: 7.50 staff: 10.00 service: 7.50 clean: 10.00 comfort: 7.50 location: 7.50 + “It was lovely and clean good breakfast host was very knowledgeable of the area.” - The shower in room 9 could do with looking at was not very good, and the parking in Blackpool is terrible Owners Reply: Hi Folks, Thank you for reviewing your stay with us on Booking.com. we appreciate all comments even the negative ones as this keeps us working to our high standards. its a shame you did not mention the shower during your stay with us as all that was needed was to change the setting on the variable shower head. again thank you for your comments Regards John & Lorna .. Read more

Posted on booking.com by Clare

+ “Hosts were so helpful nothing too much trouble. Stayed in lots of hotels and they have anticipated every need and more.” .. Read more

Posted on booking.com by bogdan,

Posted on booking.com by bogdan, (GB) Overall Score 10.0 value: 10.00 staff: 10.00 service: 10.00 clean: 10.00 comfort: 10.00 location: 10.00 .. Read more

'Philodene hotel '

'Philodene hotel ' The very best in Blackpool if we could give ten stars we would thank you for a fantastic stay pete and sue xx .. Read more

Perfect Stay

We had a a perfect stay at the Phildene and will definitely be returning! Perfect location, along the promenade but slightly away from the hustle and bustleand right next to the tram stop. We parked round the corner for £4 a day, which was handy! We arrived quite late on the Friday (we let them know our eta and just rang the doorbell on arrival - simple) and were greeted with an extremely warm welcome from John and Lorna, who showed us round the beautiful hotel. Our room was amazing and was decorated to a high standard, with hundreds of amazing complimentaries, including wine, chocs and cakes which were topped up daily! We were visiting whilst the tap water was contaminated and the hotel kindly provided bottled water free of charge which was very handy! The facilities in the room were great and I loved making myself a posh coffee in bed in the morning! Great bathroom and shower too! Everything was spotless! Couldn't have asked for more! .. Read more

On Honeymoon

We were the honeymoon couple who stayed in room 6, Just to say thank you for our lovely card, wine & chocolates waiting for us on arrival. You are very sweet people, our stay with you was excellent. We thoroughly enjoyed ourselves and cant wait to return again next year. from now on we are staying with you every time we come to Blackpool. ALL OUR LOVE Dave & Mhairi .. Read more

Oh to be beside the sea

John and Lorna are a lovely couple" The room was a real treat everything we needed was there. All very modern and clean. The breakfast was amazing and they went to a lot of trouble for my (vegetarian) breakfast for which I was very grateful. Nothing was too much trouble and they gave us some great information on local places of interest. We would definitely recommend this hotel and would happily stay there again .. Read more

Miss Ts Review

'I love being beside the seaside, and we really enjoyed our stay this weekend at the 4 Star Phildene Blackpool, very comfortable bed, loads of choice for breakfast. Lorna and John were very hospitable, will defo return and have already recommended to friends. Miss T' .. Read more

Michelle Southern - very happy

"lovely couple, lovely suite room, lovely breakfast. will stay again 5 stars from me." .. Read more

“To John lorna”

We really enjoyed our stay they look after you really well the rooms are beautiful they have coffee maker and others facilities the breakfast are lovely plenty to eat John and Lorna are nice people and they look after you really we'll going back next year love Sandra & Kevin from country Durham .. Read more

“Severely disappointed”

“Severely disappointed” Posted on tripadvisor.com (Please see our reply on tripadvisor) I didn't actually get to stay here but I was still charged for the experience. I arrived to all the doors locked and the lights off. I phoned the hotel and I was greeted to a man whom told me to "use the doorbell" in an arrogant tone. I asked if there was any parking, he told me where I could park, on the street (no spaces) on the promenade after 8pm for free, or at some car park, a fair walk away, that has to be paid by the hour! I decided to cancel my stay knowing I would be charged. I phoned him and he was even more arrogant than before. If you don't have a car and want to be treated by a rude man, this is the place to stay! .. Read more

Lovely Stay

The hosts were lovely and very attentive to our needsWe were made to feel very welcombe and the dacilities in our room were excellent. What suprised us most was breakfast.It was of a very high standard and the variety would put some 5 star hotels to shame. If we returned to Blackpool again we would definetley stay here again. .. Read more

Lovely Premier Suite

Booked a special weekend away for me and my girlfriend, stayed in Lorna & Johns lovely premier suite. It was everything we could have asked for and more. Wine & Chocolates on arrival were included in the price and a great choice for breakfast, home made yogurt and smoothies, fresh fruit and a wonderful choice for a cooked breakfast. John even done my girlfriend Boiled egg and soldiers. Thank you John & Lorna for a lovely stay. .. Read more

lovely hotel

'Just back from Blackpool stayed in this lovely hotel warm and friendly couldn't do enough for you hotel is spotless great breakfast everything cooked fresh homemade smoothies very tasty rooms very comfortable and quiet this is my second visit to the hotel and will definitely be returning whenever in Blackpool ' .. Read more

“Nice freindly place with accommodating hosts”

We booked this place on a recommendation and I must I was pleasantly surprised the room was nicely decorated and John and Lorna were very hospitable accommodating hosts. We were made to feel very welcome from the moment we arrived and the breakfast is quite good with a wide variety of choices up to and including their own homemade smoothies. I was catered for with gluten free bread and biscuits. There were nice little treats of various things like biscuits, chocolates and little bottles of wine in the room and the bathroom had a selection of items for your stay right down to a bathrobe. Nice comfortable bed made for a very restful sleep and the ambience of the room and the hotel was very pleasant. Bravo to John and Lorna .. Read more

“Lovely hosts”

Great midweek stay, lovely comfy rooms nice touch with a bottle of wine in room for after a long drive. Amazing breakfast with nothing being too much trouble, fresh homemade smoothies and great selection of extras to choose from. The hosts make the stay extra special.Will definitely return. Thanks for a lovely break .. Read more

“hosts that offer the most”

Posted on Tripadvisor.com “hosts that offer the most” just returned from a weekend at the Phildene, Blackpool & couldn't of asked for anything better. We were made to feel so welcome by hosts Lorna & John & treated with TLC from the minute we arrived to the minute we left. We booked a premier suite & it was lovely & clean. the suite has an en suite shower room & separate living room with a sofa, fridge, table & chairs & tea & coffee facilities. It also has a tv in both rooms. The room also had lots of nice added touches Bath robes, slippers & toiletries to mention just a few. The service provided at breakfast by Lorna & John is excellent, they really do go the extra mile for their customers. Thanks Lorna & John We will certainly return to the Phildene next time we visit Blackpool Room Tip: I think all rooms are good but the suites are great Stayed August 2015, travelled as a couple .. Read more

“Highly Recommended ”

I booked a night away for me and my wife and thought we would try 4 star for a change! I am so glad that we chose this place, the room was fantastic with everything that you could ask for and the comfiest bed I've ever slept in in a hotel. John and Lorna were the most friendliest hosts i have met in a long time, nothing was too much trouble .. Read more

“Great stay”

Friendly hosts and a lovely room with a tasimo machine! Great choice of food a lovely peaceful stay near the front of Blackpool recommend to young or older couples looking to visit the attractions of Blackpool. Parking was not easy to find which was a downside but eventually managed to park a bit away from the hotel itself would have been better with its own parking spaces but overall a wonderful B&B .. Read more

“Great stay at a friendly, well run hotel

The room was beautifully decorated and John and Lorna were very hospitable hosts. We were made to feel very welcome from the moment we arrived. Breakfast is amazing, with a wide variety of choices. Complimentary wine and soft drinks are available. The suite we stayed in was the premier double suite, which was very comfortable, and had a range of amenities. I would recommend anyone to stay at this hotel. We will definitely be going back. .. Read more

“Great service, location, price and value”

Very clean, friendly and excellently located hotel in the heart of Blackpool. Walking distance from all the main attractions, but just off the main strip enough to be peaceful. John and Lorna could not have been nicer folks, and we left feeling like we had visited friends rather than just stay at a hotel. Our suite was spacious and unexpectedly large for Blackpool. Breakfast was brilliant, with lots of cooked to order options .. Read more

“Great room”

Posted on Tripadvisor.com By Mikey Lovely couple who couldn't be more helpful. Clean and tidy single room with a TV and ensuite which suited me perfectly for an overnight stay. Complimentary bits and pieces are brilliant and even got a packed lunch to go when I couldn't make breakfast! .. Read more

“Great b and b”

This b and b is great. I really enjoyed staying here. The room was beautifully decorated and spacious . Breakfast was great. The hosts were very friendly and welcoming. Great location for almost every thing. Love st chads road great b and bs. Highly recommended. Katie G .. Read more

“Fantastic!!” by Kim

“Fantastic!!” Trying to find a decent hotel or B&B in Blackpool is like trying to find hens teeth.....I thought they didn't exist!! But we found a gem in this one, Lorna and John really couldn't do enough to please, fantastic hosts with a terrific breakfast and so much to choose from, Johns smoothies were the bomb! Room was spotless and the added touches like the complimentary wine and chocolates in the room were an added bonus, would definitely recommend to others, one of the better places to stay in Blackpool. Stayed September 2015, travelled as a couple .. Read more

“Excellent Stay”

“Excellent Stay” Posted on tripadvisor.com Second time here... upgraded for the superior room.. has fudge and complimentary drinks and even a box of chocolates waiting. Will be staying again. They provide a number to call for secure parking which costs only £5 for overnight. Lovely couple who run it, always wanting to help in anyway. Positioned off the main road so no trafic noise. No children allowed, so excellent for a couples weekend away. No questions about recommending this hotel. Only issue. .. one night is not enough hear.. but... we only had a 1 night stay. Stayed June 2015, travelled as a couple .. Read more

“Excellent ”

“Excellent ” Posted on Tripadvisor.com Very friendly staff. very comfortable bed and clean about breakfast 5 star hotel i would like to come back there always when i be in Blackpool i recommend any one visit Blackpool visit the hotel and you will be come back again .. Read more

“excellent hotel”

“excellent hotel” on arrival we were welcomed by john who booked us in then lorna arrived to explain about the hotel which was in a good location lorna and john were very helpful with local information. breakfast was lovely and we would stay here next time we came to blackpool thanks for our lovely stay .. Read more

“Excellent Hotel, highly recommended”

“Excellent Hotel, highly recommended” Posted on tripadvisor.com Upon our arrival we were greeted with a very warm welcome from John and Lorna, with Lorna even offering to make us a cup of tea. Lorna showed us to our room which had lovely modern décor and it was spotless. We had a fridge in the room that had a fresh pint of milk in it, fruit juices and water. We had complimentary wines and chocolates which was a lovely touch. The tea making facilities were excellent; we even had a coffee machine and some lovely complimentary biscuits. There was a bath robe and slippers for us both to use and ample towels. The complimentary toiletries were great, even down to a comb, tooth brush and sewing kit! The bed was so comfortable, the duvet and the pillows were of a very high quality. The duvet and the pillows had protectors on them and everything smelt fresh and clean. The breakfast was to die for. There was a buffet style option to begin with which had cereals/pastries/salami/cheeses etc on it and even some fresh smoothies. We then had the option of a warm breakfast; we both opted for the full monty which was beautiful. As I am from a farming background, I can tell good quality m .. Read more

“Excellent hotel - even better owners!”

Posted on Tripadvisor.com We got a last minute booking here on the May bank holiday weekend. We were welcomed by two lovely people, John & Lorna who made us feel really welcome and at home. Lorna showed us around the hotel and to our room which was beautifully decorated and we even had some complimentary chocolates and wine on arrival which was a nice touch. The bed was extremely comfy and the bathrooms was filled with everything we needed and more. Breakfast was amazing, john kindly made me egg and soldiers and we really enjoyed the fresh smoothies and pastries! We had a lovely stay and we stay in blackpool a lot to visit family so we will definitely back to the hotel in the near future. Best hotel and service I have stayed in, the little touches make it so special. Thanks for a great weekend! Stacey & Michael. Stayed May 2015, travelled as a couple .. Read more

“Definitely LGBT friendly!”

My title is to redress the review below which I find confusing! This weekend a number of delegates from the Unison National LGBT conference have stayed at this hotel and I found the owners welcoming and friendly. The room was spotless and warm and the bathroom has the best selection of toiletries of anywhere I have ever stayed. Breakfasts were freshly cooked and very tasty and served with a smile. The owners even opened up earlier than usual to accommodate our ridiculously early conference start! I wouldn't hesitate to book here again if visiting. Thank you .. Read more

“Cosy and welcoming”

Stayed here last night. Warm welcome, cosy room, complimentary wine, water, toiletries etc.dressing gowns and slippers provided. Spotlessly clean. Bathroom a bit dated but not a problem. Hot water takes a while to come through, but its a big building. Lovely and hot when it does! Excellent breakfast, great choice and great service. Nothing is too much trouble, About a10 minute to the centre but just straight along the front. Hotel will give you a taxi number and point out the tram stops. Parking on street but there is a pay and display in the next road. £6 for 24 hrs. Great stay and would recommend this hotel. .. Read more

“Best bed and breakfast hotel I have had the pleasure to stay in.”

Post on Tripadvisor.com by James & Hannah The owners John and Lorna give you a great welcome from the minute you arrive. The rooms are tastefully decorated and you have everything you need. There are lots of complimentary goodies, small bottle of nice wine, biscuits, cakes, and the bathroom is well stocked too! Breakfast in the morning was a real treat as well. All in all great place to stay, comfy beds, peaceful and great location - very central and over the road from the beach and excellent value for money. When we visit Blackpool again this is the only place we would stay! James and Hannah .. Read more

“Amazing hotel”

This hotel is perfect and cute we had a fantastic room with a living room and a kitchen area and a lovely decorated bedroom and everything was nice and clean. The breakfast is amazing especially with all the choices you get and the smoothies are nice like lorna recommended. Lorna and John are really friendly and treat you like you are family! Would definitely stay again! - Melekah & James x .. Read more

“A great stay as always.”

“A great stay as always.” 5 'This was my fourth stay at The Phildene. The hotel was excellent before but refurbishment since have made it even better. John and Lorna are excellent hosts and cannot make you feel more welcome , nothing is too much trouble. The single room I stayed in was to the highest standard both in terms of comfort and quality. The breakfast served was excellent , a great selection but couldn't go wrong with the 'full monty' English breakfast. Tea , coffee and toast was on tap as well. A great breakfast certainly starts the day off on the right footing. The hotel is situated in a very good location between the South and Central Piers just off the sea front in an excellent street. The Pleasure Beach and Town Centre are short walks away and the tram service is very good. There are plenty of very good pubs near to The Phildene so you can stay local so to speak and still have a very good time. I cannot recommend The Phildene enough and look forward to John and Lorna's company again in the future.' Review By - David Whittam Travelling as - Single Male .. Read more

“1 night stay”

Posted on Tripadvisor.com Lorna and John are most welcoming rooms nice and clean our bed was very comfortable,you can tell they both take great pride in running their hotel,the breakfast was very well presented with lots of choices,at breakfast you can see into the kitchen and you can see how clean everything is ,I work in a kitchen myself so I notice these things overall a very good stay. .. Read more

I’m Top Rated – 2016 Simply the Guest Awards

This Much-loved property regularly gets great reviews, making it one of the Top Rated properties in Our Simply the Guest Awards (Laterooms.com) .. Read more

'I was really impressed'

A review has been posted by 'Joan Blacklock' Review: 'I was really impressed with the accommodation ,also the complimentary drinks and chocolates was a nice touch .All the toiletries we needed and even slippers and dressing gowns .was well pleased .spotless breakfast was great plenty of choice , lovely couple very accommodating should be 5 star.' .. Read more

Great Visit

''Great visit'' (5 of 5 stars) Just got back from a 2 night stay here.. The owners were very welcoming and very friendly! The rooms were very clean and tidy, well decorated.. Perfect location.. Walking distance... There is a secure 24hr car park close by... Excellent stay... Breakfast was great and the accommodated well for vegetarian breakfasts :) will definately come back again! X .. Read more

Great Stay

I Loved Staying Here Online Review By: Susan "What a lovely place to stay in Blackpool, The Phildene deserves 5 stars not 4, 5 star quality and service all through my stay. Will definantly return. Thanks again Lorna & John for a great time. Regards Susan" .. Read more

Great Service

Review: 'We looked for a long time on the internet before finding this star of a B&B. Great service, wonderful welcome and a great stay thank you Lorna & John from Donna' .. Read more

Fantastic hotel

'John and Lorna were very welcoming on our arrival of our honeymoon and very helpful throughout the stay. the room was immaculate and snow white towel changed every day . the breakfast was great with loads of choice on the menu would defo stay here again and recommend to me it was a 5 star' Siobhan M .. Read more

Exceptional

Connor marked us as exceptional 10/10 on booking.com .. Read more

Excellent hotel.

'Too hotel' Excellent hotel. They have thought of everything. Vet helpful. Nothing is too much trouble. Very clean, treats in room, beautifully decorated. Great breakfast lots of choice. Would definately recommend. And stay again. .. Read more

Excellent establishment.

Posted on Tripadvisor.com Excellent establishment. So much more than ever expected. The hosts cannot do enough for you,really made us feel at home. Rooms really good size with super comfy bed and bedding. Lovely little touches with the chocolates and wine in the room.Breakfast was excellent I would recommend the pouched eggs! Location really good too with tram stop just outside the hotel. I will definitely be going back to visit and hopefully the new suites be finished. They looked lovely. Perfect b and b perfect hosts!!! Stayed May 2015, travelled as a couple .. Read more

Excellent 5 STAR

"Excellent B&B, best I have stayed at in Blackpool, Good quality accommodation with great service and a breakfast by far superior to any I have had including the Hilton Hotel. " .. Read more

"Excalent hotel"

I have stayed in about 4 hotels in Blackpool this is the best I have stayed in staff couldn't do enough for you excellent all round .. Read more

Definately 4*

'This is the 2nd time we have stayed at the New Phildene, and each time the hosts John & Lorna have gone out of their way to really look after us. The hotel is really clean, in a central location, and offers spacious & modern bedrooms, with a lovely breakfast the morning after. If you are visiting Blackpool - don't stay anywhere else - Phildene is definately 4*. Thanks John & Lorna for your hospitality. ' .. Read more

Brilliant Stay

'Was a brilliant stay. Really recommend this hotel. So kind and worming couple. was like home to home. Rooms really clean and tidy, and amazing breakfast with not a drop of fat on the plate. Was really nice :) the hotel is in a perfect spot with walking distance to pretty much everything. Dont miss out guys! .. Read more

Bev from room seven

Hi, Thanks again for lovely weekend. Thanks Bev from room seven .. Read more

Best in Blackpool

+ “The facilities and attention to detail are great. John and Lorna are lovely hosts - nothing is too much trouble. Very high standards throughout. Breakfast was superb.” - Nothing about the hotel. The weather was awful but that's not something even Lorna could fix! .. Read more

Absolutely perfect,

'charlotte and terry' Absolutely perfect, amazing hosts very welcoming, lovely environment, bedrooms are cosy and extremely clean! Most Comfortable bed ever, Provided with everything we possibly need, we will definitely be returning, Lorna is so lovely she makes you so comfortable. Breakfast is lovely wide range of choices, thank you for having us .. Read more

'Absolutely loved staying here,

'Absolutely loved staying here, Large well furnished superior room with its own seating area, complimentary drinks, chocolates, cakes, biscuits and toiletries supplied. Oh and a wonderful choice for breakfast, do not miss it, cooked to perfection. Thanks for looking after us Adam & Charlotte' .. Read more

A review has been posted by 'Wayne Fielding'

A review has been posted by 'Wayne Fielding' Review: 'Had a great weekend in Blackpool and stayed at a very nice guest house run by John & Lorna (Excellent Host's). Very clean and comfy. Shame we missed out on breakfast our first night as over slept as it was a great choice and well cooked with local, Free Range and organic produce. It was GREAT even without the Kellogg's Frosties as Tony the tiger would say. from Wayne & Shellie' .. Read more

A review has been posted by 'Samantha Smith'

Online Review: 'Have stayed in many Blackpool Guest Houses / B&Bs and find the Phildene to be the best, will return to the Phildene on our next visit to Blackpool. Great Food, Rooms & Hospitality from the owners.' .. Read more

A review has been posted by 'Paula Stot

'Excellant hotel. Clean, comfortable, freindly and the owners cant do enough for you. The bed was the most comfortable i have ever slept in and the personal extra touches like wine and chocolates , dressing gowns, slippers and a lovely selection of toiletries really gave it that special touch. The location was central in a quiet street close to the promenade tower and pleasure beach with parking close by in a secure car park. The breakfast wad excellant locally sourced produce and a good selection on offer.' .. Read more

A review has been posted by 'Mrs Jean Gordon'

A review has been posted by 'Mrs Jean Gordon' see below: Review: 'We loved this place. Immaculate, modern and airy feel to rooms. Lovely sitting rooms to front for relaxing in. Bedrooms fab, comfy beds, lovely quality towels and bedding. So many extras in room from toiletries, 2 bottles of water, lovely chocs and 2 small bottles of wine. All but wine replenished daily. Breakfast - all I can say is - best ever. Such a wide choice from fresh fruits, smoofhies, cooked, fish, many teas and coffees, fresh juice, home made yogurt, jams etc. The list is endless and quality and presentation first class. Nothing is a bother and all cooked by John and served by Lorna with a cheery smile. We loved this place so much we have booked for next year.' .. Read more

A review has been posted by 'Mr. Michael Reynolds

A review has been posted by 'Mr. Michael Reynolds' see below: Review: 'Very clean and well decorated throughout. Friendly and hospitable hosts, with an excellent breakfast. Good value. Would stay again and recommended to others.' .. Read more

A review has been posted by 'Daniel Lavery'

A review has been posted by 'Daniel Lavery' Review: 'Booked a special weekend away for me and my girlfriend, stayed in Lorna & Johns lovely premier suite. It was everything we could have asked for and more. Wine & Chocolates on arrival were included in the price and a great choice for breakfast, home made yogurt and smoothies, fresh fruit and a wonderful choice for a cooked breakfast. John even done my girlfriend Boiled egg and soldiers. Thank you John & Lorna for a lovely stay.' .. Read more

A review has been posted by 'Brian Mitchell Transport'

Review: 'We love staying at phildene .your host are so friendly not thing to much trouble. The rooms are so clean! !! The breakfast has every choice u can think of . Fantastic stay ! Like always . Will return soon .' .. Read more

A great experience

'Upon our arrival we were greeted with a very warm welcome from John and Lorna, with Lorna even offering to make us a cup of tea. Lorna showed us to our room which had lovely modern décor and it was spotless. We had a fridge in the room that had a fresh pint of milk in it, fruit juices and water. We had complimentary wines and chocolates which was a lovely touch. The tea making facilities were excellent; we even had a coffee machine and some lovely complimentary biscuits. There was a bath robe and slippers for us both to use and ample towels. The complimentary toiletries were great, even down to a comb, tooth brush and sewing kit! The bed was so comfortable, the duvet and the pillows were of a very high quality. The duvet and the pillows had protectors on them and everything smelt fresh and clean. The breakfast was to die for. There was a buffet style option to begin with which had cereals/pastries/salami/cheeses etc on it and even some fresh smoothies. We then had the option of a warm breakfast; we both opted for the full monty which was beautiful. As I am from a farming background, I can tell good quality meat from a mile off and the sausage and bacon were just this. The black pudding was the .. Read more

'5 star service'

Review: '5 star service across the board, will be going back next year .. Read more

5 Star Review

'We cannot speak highly enough about our stay. John & Lorna were the perfect hosts. Nothing was too much to ask for. Our room was more than comfortable and the breakfast was fantastic. We will definately stay again when we return.' .. Read more

1st Rate Guest House

"Too short a stay would have liked to have stayed longer, as this is a 1st Rate Guest House, providing a quality product and excellent service. Great choice of quality items for breakfast. Thank you John & Lorna" .. Read more

"Lovely hotel, nice people"

Very friendly owners, amazing breakfast, comfy bed and room decorated nicely. Free chocolates and wine! The only annoying thing was we couldn't find anywhere to park at first, but the owners were on the phone to us helping with this. I couldn't get the wifi to work properly according to the instructions in the room but it was too late at night to ask for assistance .. Read more

+ “Loved everything about our stay.

Posted on Booking.com 2015-08-11 patrick, GB) + “Loved everything about our stay. Lorna & John were both amazing hosts and made us feel so welcome as soon as we arrived. The little extras such as the chocolates and the wines in the room just gave it that extra special touch. Loved the hearty breakfast also. The rooms are beautifully kitted out. Everything was just first class.” - The only thing I didn't like was I didn't book a longer stay. Honestly we have no faults whatsoever Overall 10.0 value: 10.00 staff: 10.00 service: 10.00 clean: 10.00 comfort: 10.00 location: 10.00 .. Read more

+ “Everything was perfect”

Posted on Booking.com 2015-08-11 Clara, (FR) + “Everything was perfect” Overall 9.6 value: 10.00 staff: 10.00 service: 10.00 clean: 10.00 comfort: 10.00 location: 7.5 .. Read more

'Excellent stay again'

'Excellent stay again' Second time here now. And wont be the last. Excellent service with a very welcoming and warm attitute for our stay. Thanks again Allan and Teacey .. Read more